Blast from the past

Well, I’ve got a busy few days ahead of me. They involve carbo-loading, trying on all my running outfits, charging my watch, watching the course video AGAIN, panicking, buying lots of treats for afterwards…yes, the time has finally come to run my first marathon this weekend! I feel much better this week and well rested and am now actually looking forward to seeing what I can do with all that training.

In my absence I am going to give you some homework. I am shamelessly “borrowing” this idea from my friend Jacqueline at Mature Student Hanging in There.

When you discover a new blog, it’s very hard to actually go back and read every single post (this is what makes me wish you could buy a magazine of your favourite blogs sometimes, but that’s another story). So here is a chance for me and all of you to share two posts that we think everyone should read. These could be what you think are your best posts, or your most commented on, those that best sum up your blog, most likes or whatever other criteria you like!

Looking back on my posts, I found it quite hard to pick two. For me, some of my first posts are my most memorable because it was so hard to write them and I had no audience yet. I also like some of my photo posts because they bring back particular memories.

I decided to go with two posts from December that I really enjoyed writing. At the time I didn’t know that I would visit in February and knock off a couple from the bucket list.

My Icelandic bucket list

My Iceland 2011

Please share your links below so that my extremely talented audience and I can enjoy some of your old posts! Thank you! Next time you hear from me, I will be a marathoner…

What makes a good blog post for you? Are there some types of posts you enjoy writing more than others? Does it matter if a post gets no comments – does it influence what you write about?

15 thoughts on “Blast from the past

  1. Oh I’m so pleased you decided to do this and thanks for the shout out – you didn’t need to do that, I’m more than happy to share, but it’s lovely that you dids. So, what makes a good blog post….. well blogs that make me smile are always good. I love people that can write with humour. I’ve also noticed that some people have the knack of writing as though they are talking directly to you – like they are sitting in the cafe with me. I feel that about your writing – keep them coming.

    • Agreed! If a blog is funny it doesn’t matter what the real topic is! It’s a real skill to write with humour. And especially to find humour in quite ordinary situations, I love funny tales of daily life. Thank you for the compliment, it gets easier to write “to” people once you know who they are. When I started the blog I had no idea what kind of audience I had, if any!

  2. I like to experiment with my posts, to expand the form of the post, in addition to the content. A couple of the more successful ones were:
    The Life of a House and
    Joni Mitchell’s Coyote

    Some of what I think are my best posts never get any comments, other “throw-aways” get a big response, still others get a delayed response. Some posts which are six or seven years old are visited almost every week- and they still don’t have any comments!

    • Two great posts. Joni Mitchell is someone who I always think I should like more than I do. She has a few songs I love and then the rest I find hard to get into. Maybe I need to revisit her.

      I know what you mean, it’s quite random sometimes what people seem to respond to! And how amazing that people are still reading your older posts after all this time. I suppose that is an encouraging sign and we shouldn’t take our blogs down if we “finish” them. I suspect that you like me get quite a few people looking for Iceland tourist information finding your blog rather than bloggers, who seem to be the only ones who comment.

  3. I love writing about my travels and food in general as those are two things that make me happy. Of course it would be lovely to have more readers and I love getting comments but I also worry about posting anything too personal. I’m quite embarrassed to say that I’m not sure I have any favourites of my own but this was fun to write as it allowed me to dream a little. :)

    http://catastrophicfindings.wordpress.com/2011/08/26/around-the-world-from-a-z/

    • Great post! Lists are fun to do as blog posts. And a travel list is always fun to read.

      I’ve also just read your Remembering 11 March post which was very moving. It’s hard to imagine what people are going through if you don’t know them personally sometimes so thank you.

      I know what you mean about not writing anything too personal on your blog, I am the same. Can’t believe what some people are willing to share under their real names!

      • Thank you for your kind comments! It took me a while to get up the courage to write about what happened –I’m not even sure my old flat is still there. I still have survior’s guilt (even though I was far far away) but things are certainly better.

        I’m too shy to share my blog with my friends. I guess I would be too worried about what they thought. Haha. Yes, it does amaze me when people are so bold to put family photos and real names! Looking forward to reading more about Iceland. And can’t wait to share my experiences too!

        And btw, I think it’s amazing that you run marathons! An 8K run is a marathon to me. Haha. I barely survived the one-year anniversary run for Japan. Gutted really, as I didn’t even beat my PR this year. :P

      • I can’t even imagine. Your friends there must have appreciated your support. Don’t feel guilty, they wouldn’t have wanted you to be there at the time.

        I wish I hadn’t told some friends about my blog. If I ever start another one I’m keeping it quiet!

        Thanks for your compliments. The fact that you know about 8ks and PRs means you are a runner. :) I look forward to your thoughts on Iceland too!

  4. What a wonderful idea :)
    Funny to pick two of your favorites of your own blog, i guess it s challenging to pick two. I could pick a loads of your blog that i like ;) Since im new at blogging and my own blog started out as a travel blog but has turned into dive, travel blog.. ;) i kinda like to see how i have devoloped in my own writing, and am not so sacred of saying my opinions on the net anymore, so here are my two.

    http://vedistravel.wordpress.com/2011/11/22/semuc-champey-adios-guatemala/

    http://vedistravel.wordpress.com/2011/12/05/10-things-i-dislike/
    ;)

      • Thanks! I didn’t realise when I wrote it that I would just keep coming up with more even as I crossed things off the list. I suppose the day I stop thinking of fun things to do is the day I stop enjoying life. :)

    • I know, it’s quite strange reading some of your own older posts. Like you, when I first started I was worried about saying anything “controversial” or that might get me nasty comments. I was pleasantly surprised at how friendly the blogging world is.

      Loved your jumping picture – funny, yes, but much neater than my own panicky arm and leg waving jump would be! And do you think they’ve got a music nerd yet or can I apply?

      I remember your dislikes post. It was very insightful about the way customers treat hairdressers. I’ve just switched mine after many years. I hadn’t thought of it before, but again this is a job that you can do where ever you are in the world – you’re pretty clever with your career and hobby choices!

      Hope all is going well in Mexico x

      • You know what, i think the posistion is still open for “music nerd” ;-) Im actually going there again in Mai, sooo looking forward to it .

        The thing with my 10 dislikes post was actually inspired from another wordpress blogger, a dentist that was writing about her own customers ;-)

        Im LOVING Mexico, writing a post about it as we speak ;-) x

Your thoughts welcome - bloggers love feedback!

