And now for the Icelandic news…

Yes, I’m sad. I read the news pages of a country 1,000 miles away. Usually they are interesting only in their uneventfulness or because they mention a concert I wish I was at, but there have been a few things going on in Iceland lately that have caught my eye, from good to bad.

1. The Icelandic hamburger restaurant HamborgarabĂșllan is opening a branch in London! My reaction: What?? Wow! How exciting! I’m there!

Hopefully they will also sell some other Icelandic goods for homesick expats and sad tourists. (yes, I still have dreams of opening up my own Icelandic shop some day so it would be interesting to see how any competition fared – of course I couldn’t compete with the burgers) I’m sure you’re looking forward to my review nearly as much as I am looking forward to going to an Icelandic restaurant without going to Iceland.

2. Made in Iceland 5 is out! Iceland Music Export put together compilations every few months and they are always great and include some songs I know and a few hidden gems that I don’t. A good and easy way to expand your Icelandic musical knowledge – check it out here or below

3. Iceland celebrated the first day of summer last week, which resulted in many blogs and news sites covered in photos that make you want to go and visit. I love this time of year when you only have the nicer weather ahead of you.

4. It seems that BBC Lifestyle have a programme out called Delicious Iceland – I don’t know why I haven’t come across this on any of the BBC channels here, but it looks good, so check it out on my behalf if you get BBC Lifestyle please!

5. “Iceland’s volcanoes may power the UK”. For Iceland to make the news here, volcanoes have to be involved – and in the case of this story, they don’t even really have to be involved, you can just mention them to make your headline sound exciting. Basically, there is an idea to put a pipeline underwater between Iceland and the UK so we can use Iceland’s abundant geothermal energy. As someone who is always impressed by the abundant heat and hot water in Iceland, this does sound good until you think about the fact that Iceland would be giving up its own natural resources to create geothermal plants to process this, and they would need to be pretty big. I don’t think this will actually happen as creating such a long cable would be so complicated, but let’s see what comes out of their “talks”.

6. The results of Geir Haarde’s trial have also been big news here. It will be interesting to see Iceland’s reaction over the next few days.

7. Finally, Tom Cruise will be filming in Iceland for a few weeks this summer. I have a particular dislike for him and the world he represents and hope we’re not there at the same time. :)

15 thoughts on “And now for the Icelandic news…

  1. firstly, wow!! you have sure done your homework ;-) i did NOT know about this thing where i could listen to Icelandic music, thanks for that great tip ;-). for the Hamborgarab’ullan.. are they really that good! i have tried them out once, but like American Style in Iceland better..
    And for the pipeline underwater between Iceland and UK.. the first thing that poops up in my mind: “you think they might be needing commercial divers for the work”.. ;-) interesting. but not good for Iceland in the long run, of course.
    Geir Hardee… People are really pissed off back at home.. There is alot of talk around that subject right now, and its NOT good.
    Did’nt know that BBC had a program about Iceland!!! Never watch TV so might be therfore i did’nt know.. ;-)

    And what kind of a store did you want to open up. With Icelandic goods! music!! candy!! that would sell im sure ;-)

    • How can you not know about Made in Iceland?? You would know all the songs anyway. OK, I am a nerd, but this is how I get my fix of Iceland for the 99% of the time I’m not there. Do you ever listen to Icelandic radio when travelling? You must miss hearing Icelandic language.

      I haven’t eaten at American Style – good excuse to do a comparison!

      Hey, you’re right about the diving bit. See, you never miss an opportunity.

      Annoyingly, we, the home of the BBC, haven’t had this programme, but apparently it has been shown in many other countries.

      I have this fantasy to have a shop selling Icelandic wool, knitted stuff, candy, music, lava, artwork, everything. The problem is that I live in a small town (which does have some quite unique shops though so it wouldn’t be THAT strange) and I would be my own biggest customer! I’d definitely have to do mail order too. I always think some day someone else in the UK is going to set something like this up and I’m going to be mad I didn’t do it first. I need to be either rich or learn a lot about business though.

      • I know!! im strange in that way, with the music i mean. I listen to the same songs in Icelandic over and over again on my ipod. :)
        I think its so cool with your store. But, might be a bad investment if you are buying all your goods yourself ;) hehe..

        Tom Cruise.. please, him and Brad Pitt.. I dont get it! im lost when it comes to all the crasyness around them two.. :o)

      • I tend to listen to nothing but a few songs over and over again until I get sick of them! And then I find another few songs…I’m still not sick of some of my running songs that have been going for a few months.
        I’m sure there’s a place for you in my store – if you ever move back to Iceland you can be the Buyer. Oh, and I forgot to say that I also want it to have a travel agency part to it!
        I hate Tom, Brad, George and all those men we are supposed to think are so wonderful. Luckily I don’t know who any of the young ones are now or I’d hate them too. :)

  2. What an interesting newsy post. Keep us posted on the hamburger restaurant – I might check that out when I’m next in London. I’m with you on the Tom Cruise bit – can’t stand the man.

      • Go for it girl. I think you might be in with a shout there. Tell them you write a blog about Iceland and you have millions of followers and we all want to go to Iceland too :lol: Hell I’d give you a burger for that :wink:

  3. Great post, love the music link, shall defo keep an eye on that. The Weather Report on Facebook has some observations on Geir Hardee that you may find interesting…also you will learn how to swear in Icelandic, lol.

Your thoughts welcome - bloggers love feedback!

