Landmannalaugar to Þórsmörk walk photos

My first trip to Iceland was to do the famous walk from Landmannalaugar to Þórsmörk. This is probably the most popular walk in Iceland, and it’s one that’s only accessible from June to September. I did this in June and we saw very few other people on the route, so maybe it gets busier later. You can also start at other points to make the walk longer. You have to pre-book the mountain huts if you want to stay there or you can camp out.

It’s hugely varied terrain, with everything from snowy mountains to bleak volcanic rocks and ending in a forest. Landmannalaugar itself is known for its rhyolite mountains and natural hot springs. If you ever have the chance to do this walk, go for it! You will never see anywhere else like this. Just be prepared to have to change your clothing layers every few minutes and do some river crossings. Of course, it’s easy to be sentimental about it when the tents and cold nights are a distant memory!

This is a collection of photos taken with a non-state of the art camera in 2005 and the scenery still looks amazing to me.

12 thoughts on “Landmannalaugar to Þórsmörk walk photos

  1. What a difference seeing Landmannalaugar without all the snow which was around on our visit, great photographs, makes me really want to go back at a different time of year.

  2. I would love to travel to Iceland someday and go on this hike! I’m all these great photos and the stories you left with made up for those cold nights in the tents 😉 Sounds like early in the season is the time to go! The river crossing wasn’t too bad, was it?

    • It’s a really amazing walk to do. I would recommend going with a group, it is something you can do on your own but the weather is changeable even in summer and I can imagine the route not being very clear if you weren’t with someone who knew what they were doing! The rivers crossings are not too deep but the current can be strong and they are COLD. Late June was a good time to go. We were just unprepared in terms of what we’d brought to sleep in – we weren’t expecting snow at night!
      I’d be happy to answer any questions you have if you end up seriously considering doing this.

  3. Wow! I’ve always wanted to go to Iceland, and hopefully I will get to some day, but right now I’m happy to live vicariously through your blog. These pictures are amazing, and I’ve enjoyed what I’ve read on your blog so far. I’ll have to keep digging and read more!

Leave a Reply

