My Icelandic music video of 2011 – Reykjavík – Hellbound Heart

I normally wouldn’t get that excited about a music video, but I did about this one!

Reykjavík! – Hellbound Heart

This is a song I’ve heard for a while but didn’t like that much (in fact, I thought it sounded like Neil Diamond) until I saw the video. Now I love it!

Why do I like this video so much? I’m going to let you in on a little secret. I’m a geek about airplanes and everything about them. I love watching them take off and land (don’t tell anyone!).

I haven’t gone on an internal flight in Iceland yet, but the domestic airport is in the heart of the city of Reykjavík and you can’t help but see it from lots of different angles, especially if you have to go to the BSI bus terminal. You can also see planes coming in from quite low around the Tjörnin area. It’s a surprisingly busy airport but the only traffic is small and propeller airplanes. There is a hotel actually at the airport but I wouldn’t recommend staying in this area as it is a little bit too far away from anything interesting aside from the plane spotting!

Anyway, this video  features a pilots eye view in a small plane taking off from this domestic airport. I have wondered how the view below would look from a plane using this airport so found this really cool. Then they arrive  into an even smaller airport which is at Ísafjörður. I think I can safely say my heart couldn’t take flying in or out of this place surrounded by high hills and water and my view that Icelandic pilots are the bravest in the world is confirmed.

This is a plane ride that I’m unlikely to take for real (especially from the cockpit!) and  I also enjoyed checking out the real-life scary plane landings and take-offs at Ísafjörður on YouTube. I know, I’m a NERD.

YIKES!

LOOK OUT!

Strangely, the band Reykjavík!, musician Mugison and Iceland’s president Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson are all originally from Ísafjörður, which has a population of only around 2,600.

I’ll go and calm down now. : ) I might have to add this flight to my bucket list.

If any of you have done this flight, get in touch!

24 thoughts on “My Icelandic music video of 2011 – Reykjavík – Hellbound Heart

  1. Hi! That is a fun airport! I used to fly when I was young, when I had money, before I was married, but I still daydream about it (and other things I used to do!). Great video, as well. Thanks for stopping by my blog and I totally understand your obsession.

    • Yes, I can imagine it would be quite a “fun” ride! (if you are brave enough to look out the windows) I see you are relatively new to blogging too. It’s nice to meet other Icelandophiles out there, there’s not too many of us.

  2. Thanks for your suggestion, will post it soon! While we think to go to Iceland in summer(just as interest), I have some questions to you:
    how much costs eating in a restaurant and how much costs sth to eat(in supermarket) ?
    Would be glad if you could answer…. 🙂
    Greetings to this fantastic country! And Merry Christmas
    xandi

    • The cost of everything is relatively high in Iceland. Restaurants can be anything from very fancy to a hot dog stand, and most tourists tend to eat pretty cheaply by living on hot dogs, fast food and supermarket food. Not ideal really but it depends how much of your budget you want to spend on food – the good restaurants are very high quality if you want to try some more authentic local food. A typical main course would be about 5,000 kr or 31 euros.

      In terms of supermarkets, Bonus tends to be cheaper than the smaller stores like 10:11. So the short answer is, if you are happy to eat junk food and fast food, the prices won’t be too different to where you are from. There is also a middle ground of eating smaller meals at cafe type places.

      By the way, if you want to save money overall, I highly recommend NOT going in the summer – even if you go in May or September/early October, prices are much lower and the weather’s not much different. And there’s less tourists.

  3. Ah yes… the airport into Ísafjörður. During my last 4 year stay in Iceland I flew into Ísafjörður maybe a half dozen times. The first couple of times I didn’t realize how insane the approach and landing were until I had the opportunity to drive up on a pleasure trip and was in the area to watch landing and take-off. Scared the heck out of me.

  4. Wow, how cool. What were you doing there- photography? I’m getting jealous of all of you who have managed to have an Iceland-related job! Interesting to know that the take off and landing must not FEEL too scary then. If I made the mistake of looking out the window for the landing I’d be closing my eyes again pretty quickly!

    • I did a lot of photography for fun there but my job was considerably more mundane. It could probably be best described as contract monitoring.

      Most of the time we flew along the coastline for landing so it wasn’t too bad and inside the cabin of the plane you were relatively oblivious to it. But once I knew what it took to get out of there I was immediately much more nervous on take-off.

      And like neiih10 said, you could easily be stranded for days at a time. It happened on probably half of my trips. Good thing Ísafjörður was a nice place to get stranded–wonderful town and Pizza 67 was incredible.

  5. HI
    Thanks for your comment on my blog!

    Indeed, I am always flying to this airport, as it is the closest to my house. Maybe i’m mad or something, but I actually HOPE their will be bad weather and turbulence on the landing, because it makes it more fun. The only downside is that sometimes the plane can’t land at all for days at a time, because of the weather, which makes planning your holidays rather frustrating. And one time at least the plane touched down but couldn’t stop, and had to take off again and fly back to Reykjavik. But, looking on the bright side, I don’t think they have ever had a crash, which is quite miraculous looking at the videos!

    • You are crazy! I love the IDEA of turbulence and bad weather but as long as I’m the one watching the video of the plane and not in it! I can imagine how cut off Ísafjörður must feel at times. I love the setting, it looks beautiful. Feel free to take a video from the plane next time for us. : )

  6. I’ve taken a few videos , but they aren’t that great. The views on a clear day are truly amazing – check out this one, its a cool song as well, by seabear.

    TAKK!
    Neil

    • Sorry, this went into my spam folder for some reason. Thanks for the video! It’s fun to imagine getting on one of those little planes. It all does seem very close to the windows at the end. I notice on your page about flying vs driving you don’t mention that the flight is “interesting” for those of us who might be nervous flyers -to be honest, I would probably prefer to be warned about that in advance! Just a suggestion. I will get up there one way or the other someday.

  7. Pingback: Awards and more awards… | I'd Rather Be In Iceland

  8. Pingback: Revisiting the bucket list | I'd Rather Be In Iceland

  9. Pingback: Dream day in Iceland | I'd Rather Be In Iceland

Leave a Reply

