Happy New Year / Gleðilegt nýtt ár

Happy New Year everyone! I hope you all have a wonderful 2012.

I don’t really have any resolutions this year except continuing to enjoy my many interests, and keep improving on some of them, such as knitting and running. Not having children allows you to be a child forever yourself, and I hope I never become one of those boring people that spend their lives working all the time and have no hobbies. If I ever start acting my age, I might as well give up!

I try and learn new things as they catch my interest and I suppose a small “goal” for 2012 rather than resolution is to learn some Icelandic. I know that unless I can be in an immersion situation I’m not going to get very far, but I’ll have fun talking to myself in the car while listening to the CDs. I can see it’s going to be challenging, as the words aren’t pronounced at all how a native English speaker would expect them to be.

I don’t really get excited by New Year’s Eve, but if you are at home at the right time today you can watch the fireworks in Reykjavík live from the webcam at this website:

http://eldgos.mila.is/english/newyears/

This is how they looked last year!

Photo from icelandunlimited.is

5 thoughts on “Happy New Year / Gleðilegt nýtt ár

  1. Gledilegt nýtt ár !
    Hope you had a good night. Beautiful picture of Reykjavík, by the way 🙂
    And i like your way of beeing, not to serious about life, because then, as you said so well yourself, you might as well give up!.

    • I have to confess…I didn’t watch the fireworks live on the webcam so I am glad to see they now have highlights up! Here’s another motto for you: Life is full of boring people. Don’t be one of them. (I just made that up, quite impressed with myself!)

      • Here is another interesting motto, not my own i might add

        “Before you diagnose yourself with a depression or low self-esteem, first make sure that you are not, in fact, surrounded by assholes”..

        i love this one, so true 😉

Leave a Reply

