Awards and more awards…

A big thank you to those of you who have given me awards recently. I’m being super lazy and combining them in one post. I can’t really play by the rules of all the awards as there’s only so many good new blogs I’ve found since my last award post.

To summarise, I’ve been given the Versatile Blogger award twice, by MJ Monaghan and How the Cookie Crumbles. I’ve also been given the ABC award, Candle Lighting award and 7×7 Link award by Susan Writes Precise. All of these blogs are funny and well-written and amongst my favourites, so do check them out if they’re not already on your list. For the ABC award, I’m going to do a separate post on my ABC of Travel which is something quite cool I found on another blog!

So, here are some WordPress blogs that I’ve found recently and enjoy reading…I must admit that I’m not sure I’m going to be able to add many more blogs to my regular reading without becoming unable to leave the house!  By coincidence, there are 7 here, so I am going to forward the 7×7 Link award to them – rules are that you pass this on to 7 other blogs, and share 7 of your favourite posts from your own blog.

The Waiting – a pregnancy blog, not my kind of thing normally but I like her writing style.

Musings of a Twenty-Something – interesting perspective from a teacher of “disadvantaged” kids

Mature Student Hanging In There – a very busy (and funny) lady  trying to fit it all in

Vera Til – photoblog from Iceland

Cherokee by Design – some beautiful nature photography

Unlikely Expat – expat life in Taiwan

It is a Strange Life – diverse and positive messages from London

7 of my favourite posts from my own blog are:

Icelandic Bucket List – I’m lucky in that there are lots of things I’ve yet to do in Iceland but want to.  And the list has grown since I wrote this!

My Iceland 2011 – it was fun to think about how much Iceland has played a part in my life, sometimes without me realising it

What I’ve Learned About Blogging in 6 weeks – it seems we all learn the same lessons!

My Icelandic video of the year – got me all fired up thinking about small scary planes

Too Many Tourists in Iceland? – an emotive subject

An Open Letter to the Yule Lads – call me superstitious, but I did have a run of good luck after writing this

Kleina – Friend or Foe – because it was my first attempt at writing “funny”.

I must say I’ve never got so many awards in my life, an unexpected side effect of blogging. 🙂

18 thoughts on “Awards and more awards…

  1. Thank you so, so much. I’m very thrilled that you chose me as one of the recipients of this award. I’m even more thrilled to learn that you find my blogs funny. I look forward to reading all the other bloggers you’ve nominated. It’s always such a lovely way to find new blogs to read.

  2. Oh darling I’m sorry…what it is with me is I take on w-a-y too much and end up getting caught with all these things and I forget what’s important sometimes 😦
    I really appreciate your award for my little blog, Thank you 🙂 I need to stop taking on all these ‘New’ projects and remember others; an important lesson you have just taught me 🙂 Can anyone do this Blog awarding? I don’t know how it works but I will follow your footsteps on it. (I’m gonna post this comment on your site too) I am very humbled right now and Thank you so very much! Immie x

    • Hee hee, that’s ok! Blogging is actually very time consuming once you get into reading everyone else’s blogs. I feel like I never have time to write mine so I try and do several posts at once and then just schedule them.

      Yes, anyone can do the blog awarding. It seems to be very popular!

      • Hello! I agree, blogging does eat up a lot of time and it is so hard to keep up with reading blogs AND writing for your own plus doing everything else in between!
        I managed to work out how to do the awards, following your lead- once again!! and they are on my post “Yay! I got given an award!” . It was hard picking 7 I have to admit and you my dear are the proud owner of another 7×7 Link Award!!!

        Have a really fab day!! Immie 😀

  3. Being a big fan of Iceland and never having been yet i’m really glad I’m reading your blog now. I’ve learnt a lot more about the country and it’s people that I didn’t know. The posts are well written and i’m certainly getting a lot from them. I think you thoroughly deserve every award you get. Congrats.

  4. Thank you so much! I’ve been a little slow on the uptake (too many papers to grade?). But I REALLY appreciate the award! You definitely deserved it as well!

Leave a Reply

