Icelandic Chocolate Review #2 – Buffaló

This is going to be my last chocolate review for a while, having decided to give up chocolate for a while. (never sign up for a marathon)

Luckily, before I made that decision, I sampled a Buffaló bar on your behalf.

It seemed like it was going to be my kind of chocolate bar, feeling nice and substantial in the wrapper and like it had a lot of filling, whatever it was.

OK, maybe it doesn't look so appetising in a photo!

Although the ingredients were also in English on the wrapper, it didn’t give away what came as a pleasant surprise to me – the inside is marshmallow, one of my very favourite things!

This was just gorgeous, nice milk chocolate (as mentioned before, sugary American style milk chocolate rather than British style) with a fluffy marshmallow filling.  I could happily eat these all day. Unfortunately, I only bought one of them!!

I wouldn’t go so far to give this 10 out of 10 because I think they could have squeezed in another flavour here – maybe a sprinkling of peanuts on top or a caramel layer. Let’s give it a 9 out of 10. I’m coming to the conclusion that I might just like anything Freyja makes more than any other chocolate brands in Iceland. (if their Marketing team is reading this, samples are always welcome.)

For a more rounded view I allowed Mr I’d Rather Be in Iceland to have a (small) piece. He wasn’t so enamoured with it as he prefers less sweet chocolate, and gave it only a 4 out of 10.

Sadly, my chocolate reviews section now comes to an abrupt end for a few months. Normal scheduling to resume post-race!

20 thoughts on “Icelandic Chocolate Review #2 – Buffaló

  1. These things are fantastic. I was addicted when I lived there. There are so many American chocolate bars in Iceland I didn’t think Buffalos were native to the island! Should have checked the wrapper…

  2. Chocolate and candy in general is one of those things that is expensive as hell (and import only) here in Taiwan. A standard size bag of M&M’s (55ct) is about two bucks. Luckily, I’m not a big chocolate or candy person. Now, if they hiked the price on beer, I’d be in trouble…

  3. Pingback: 10 things to put you off living in Iceland | I'd Rather Be In Iceland

  4. Pingback: Icelandic Chocolate Review #5 – Draumur | I'd Rather Be In Iceland

Leave a Reply

