Icelandic Music I am listening to right now #2 – back to the 80’s

If you remember the 80’s or like 80’s music you may want to check out Icelandic singer Berndsen. His music has a real 80’s vibe to it – it’s hard to explain why, but something about the sounds and sentiments are very 80’s. Below is his video for Supertime.

Back in the real 80’s I didn’t have a clue about Iceland. The Sugarcubes were slightly on my radar, and I’ve been rediscovering some of their music that I haven’t heard for years. Birthday was a great song – here is the English language version. It’s fun to watch this now and actually recognise their locations, when I wouldn’t have had a clue way back when.

Carrying on from the Sugarcubes, Einar Örn Benediktsson’s later work with Ghostigital is often surreal but always innovative. If you aren’t a fan of his “unique” singing/rapping style, you may like the instrumental Suicide:

Listening to these all together, I am struck again by how vibrant and varied the relatively small music scene in Iceland is.

7 thoughts on “Icelandic Music I am listening to right now #2 – back to the 80’s

Leave a Reply

