Nauthólsvík on a rainy day

Like other coastal cities such as Barcelona and Brisbane, Reykjavík has its own beach. Ok, maybe the beach isn’t QUITE as extensive or popular – but it is uniquely geothermal with hot pots!

The beach at Nauthólsvík is situated in a location that is a little off the beaten track for tourists. It was one of those really rainy mornings when no one else is walking anywhere but I was determined, I’d never made the excursion to this beach, and this was my one block of free time to do it. So I was going to do it. Never mind the walking through puddles or the fact that I couldn’t really look around to see where I actually was because it was raining harder and harder.

It’s not miles away (in fact it’s pretty close to the Pearl) but it’s a little hard to find in that there are no signs anywhere. Or at least I didn’t notice any but that may be because I had my hood up in the pouring rain! So I just followed my map towards what I thought must come out at the right place even though I seemed to be going around some weird office roads.

The good news is that I had the beach all to myself. It’s all artificial, with imported sand, heated water and hot pots. If I hadn’t been on my own, cold and wet I would have liked to go in a hot pot – this just wasn’t the right time!

I’m surprised at how well the pictures came out, you’ll have to trust me that the weather really was miserable. I think this would be a really good place to go as a local – it would be fun in freezing cold weather to have the contrast of sitting in hot water, and it would also be fun on a warmer sunny day.

It really is small so I can imagine it gets crowded pretty quickly.

I’m not sure why more isn’t made of this beach – I know it’s small, but it’s actually quite a unique beach and it’s free. Hmm, I can’t blame the locals if they want to keep it quiet – but if you don’t mind a bit of a walk it’s worth a visit!

13 thoughts on “Nauthólsvík on a rainy day

  1. I think Icelanders say the weather is bad to keep out the riff-raff. The worst I ever had was a day-long drizzle with a few downpours while horseback riding. I was only a little damp afterwards. Sand beaches are a rarity here, but the water is usually too cold to swim anyway.

    • Yeah, the whole weather and daylight thing is a good way to keep out the riff-raff. High prices good too. I always make the place sound as unattractive as possible and just hope no one’s reading the blog. 🙂
      If you created a similar heated water area at one of your beaches you’d make a fortune! Same here really. Hmmm…

  2. Nice post. And Brisbane CIty and Reykjavík actually have something else in common: technically, the only “beach” in the general sense of the word in the downtown area is the one on the river bank at South Bank – and it’s also artificial! The famous surf beaches which you are probably referring to are the Sunshine and Gold Coasts, an hour north and south of Brisbane respectively. No geothermal enhancements unfortunately…

    • So I was unintentionally actually being really clever there! Ok, I had no idea…I always thought that Brisbane itself had those huge beaches as they seem to have lots of big shiny buildings on them! Thanks for sharing that, I’ve learned something interesting and indeed quite coincidental even if I didn’t know it!

  3. Pingback: Views from Perlan | I'd Rather Be In Iceland

  4. Pingback: 10 free things to do in Reykjavík | I'd Rather Be In Iceland

Leave a Reply

