An eerie place

Have you ever been somewhere that kind of gave you the creeps, but you don’t know why? I have.

This is a town somewhere in east Iceland – it can’t be too far away from Egilsstaðir. I wish I’d taken note of where it was. We stopped there not for any particular reason other than to break up the journey, stretch legs, etc.

"We come from a place where we count the days...."
FM Belfast

I took a picture at one point, not because there was anything interesting going on, but just to remind of this place. I can’t put my finger on what it was, but I had a funny feeling the whole time we were there. Like a hairs standing up on back of neck feeling, uneasy for no good reason. There were no people around, which probably added to it.

If I was a good enough writer to write a scary book, this is where I would set it. If you know where this place is, can you please tell me so I can go back and see if I feel like that again?

Have you ever visited somewhere like this where you got a strange feeling for no reason?

UPDATE: Since publishing this, I’ve since found out that the town of Stöðvarfjörður (thank you Ethna) has halved in population in the last 10 years – there are now just over 100 people living here. Sadly, people can’t afford to live in remote locations with no jobs any more. Mupimup is a design company who are now working from there and creating jobs. This little town has always stayed in my head somehow and I am really happy to know more about it now.

14 thoughts on “An eerie place

  1. I think you have captured it perfectly in the photograph. I went back to look at it after I had read this post and with the sinister looking sky the thing that struck me was the emptiness and yet right there is a car with it’s lights on. Gosh I wonder why this place caused such a reaction for you?

      • Easy coast…not quite sure where that is…hehe. I didn’t recognise the town. Although I live in Iceland, I haven’t been to that neck of the woods. I posted the photo on facebook and asked my Icelandic friends to identify it for me. The wonder of facebook 🙂

  2. Pingback: Day 139 – Time to Say Thank you « Stopping the Wind

  3. I felt nearly the same as we were in Þorlákshöfn in Southwestern Iceland. We drove into the town to get something to eat. It was a Sunday and even if some dining spots were open, we felt unwell there. Not really scary or something like that, but we felt this was not “our” place to stay. So we left the town without leaving the car for a moment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

