On the Road again

It’s nearly time for my next trip to Iceland! We are doing the Ring Road trip which I l last did in 2006. I’m looking forward to getting out in the countryside again. These are the things I’m most excited about for this trip:

1. Whale watching for the first time! Much like the Northern Lights, you have to think of just looking for the whales as part of the fun and not be too disappointed if you don’t see, oh, I don’t know, a blue whale! How great would that be.

2. Seeing puffins again. Clearly I’m an animal lover but big flocks of puffins on cliffs are so fun to see, and watching them fly provides endless entertainment. They are such a small yet comical bird.

3. Mývatn nature baths – like the Blue Lagoon without the crowds. I think we were the only people there last time.

4. Going to the West Fjords albeit for one night only.

5. Akureyri. I don’t know why I find this place so appealing because it really is just a small town, but it seems like it would be a nice place to live and it’s in such a stunning setting.

6. Endless walking opportunities!

7. Trying new and interesting food. (read: trying not to eat just hot dogs and chocolate)

8. Visiting the Alafoss wool factory.

9. Having a much better camera than the last time I did this trip. I’m looking forward to getting some better pictures.

10. Hopefully being able to get one of those airport editions of Black Skies by Arnaldur Indriðason. (I’m such a book nerd)

Who know, maybe after the trip the actual top 10 best things end up being completely different.

If you have any suggestions for things beyond the obvious big attractions and close to the Ring Road I’d love to hear them. Or if you have any funny/horror/strange tales to tell from your Ring Road trip, feel free to share!

20 thoughts on “On the Road again

  1. Glad to hear you are coming to Iceland 🙂 Route 1 round trip sounds good, and as you say, there is much to see on the way! Lets meet for a coffee somewhere in the country, if that fits, I either be in Reykjavik, or in the North or the East when you come, depends when you are in Iceland, I will think about some places to point out as great to see, but guess your are very well informed about almost everything already, considering your interest in Iceland

  2. Have a great time! Although we didn’t go whale watching in Iceland, we went near Monterrey, California last year and it was awesome. I hope the whales cooperate with you!

  3. Ahhh….I really wish you a Wonderful time!! Whale watching and seeing the Puffins sound fantastic. Going on endless walks, taking snaps, reading- my kind of holiday too! (I must be in the ‘nerd’ club as well!!). As strange as this may sound, I’m excited for you and am looking forward to the new photo’s with your new Camera. Gosh I wish I was going away 😉 Have a great time! x

  4. You lucky lucky girl 🙂 i havent even seen the whole country, and im from ther.. but i will sort that out soon 😉 when will you be there, dates? maybe i will be there at the same time. I really think you should use a little more time on Westfjords, of course i think thats the most beautiful part of the country 😉

    • I will be there before you unfortunately! I know, I think the West Fjords is a whole other separate trip. We are going way out of our way just to go for the one night. I hope the weather improves from what it currently is!

  5. I am thoroughly jealous, but trying harder to save for the next trip. I haven’t done the Ring Road yet and it sounds great. I have been to the Myvatn baths and it was just my brother and I.

  6. Hi hi, it’s really nice to see how interested you are in Iceland and that you are going there again soon, it’s a really nice country especially for nature lovers 🙂
    When will you be there this time, how are you travelling and what is your “exact” plan? I’m sure I would be able to come with some really nice tips for you to check out, I know the country pretty well if I may say so myself 😉

    Write me a mail if you want my help.

    Doddi (Frida’s boyfriend)

  7. I totally agree. Watching puffins is very entertaining, especially while they flying. 😉 I would like to do the ring road trip once more. And then visit all the places I couldn’t or missed last time.

Leave a Reply

