Icelandic girls rock!

If you listen to Icelandic music, you will notice that a high proportion of singers are women, either as solo artists or as part of a band that has a mix of men and women. I don’t know why this is, but this seems to be true of other aspects of Icelandic life too, women are just generally more prevalent. Iceland regularly tops rankings of the world’s best places for women to live.

Here are some Icelandic female singers that have very different styles but all are unique and confident individuals who would be better global role models for young girls than the likes of Rihanna! I don’t have a favourite but have tried to include a variety here.

Lay Low: Please Don’t Hate Me

Sóley: Smashed Birds

Sykur: Reykjavík

Vicky: Feel Good

Hafdis Huld: Synchronised Swimmers

Ólöf Arnalds: Innundir Skinni

Of Monsters and Men: Dirty Paws

FM Belfast: Frequency

14 thoughts on “Icelandic girls rock!

  1. I like them all. I’ve had the good fortune to see Hafdis, Olöf and Vicky (Vicky- not to be missed!) perform live and have seen live concert videos of most of the others. I have also been completely taken by the twin sisters of Pascal Pinon- a whole different approach to music, their simple, quiet, lo-fi songs contain an honesty which is hard for an older performer to capture.

  2. Soley is definitely my favorite 🙂 I didn’t even know Lay Low but that’s a very good song! I listen moslty to male singers, but for Icelandic music I’ll have to make an exception 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    • Lay Low is very good. Her latest album is sung in Icelandic which I prefer as a foreign listener, I also think it’s probably her best album. I’m sure you will get to see some great concerts when you are over there as they are always playing in nice small places.

  3. Thanks for this post.

    I liked the Vicky song best but Soley, Hafdis Huld, Lay Low and Ólöf Arnalds were also pretty good. 🙂

  4. Ólöf Arnalds is my favourite singer, I saw her live in Liverpool last year. Not only is she an accomplished musician but her voice gives me goosebumps, it’s a shame I was in such a small audience of about 10 people! Við og við, her début album, is gorgeous and the perfect soundtrack for an Icelandic roadtrip. It’s great you’re giving her ‘airtime’.

    LayLow (in Icelandic!) is a close second.

  5. Hafdís Huld 🙂 used to go to school with that girl 🙂 she is an true artist and a great singer. Have you checked out on youtube an artist called Myrra Rós!! She is a good friend of mine, beautiful voice! like an angel singing. You are right, Icelandic girls Rock! just look at Bjork.;)

  6. Pingback: Happy blogiversary to me… | I'd Rather Be In Iceland

Leave a Reply

