Book review – Black Skies by Arnaldur Indridason

Black Skies is the latest book in the series of Detective Erlendur novels to be translated into English. If you are a regular reader, you will know that I LOVE this series and I was really hoping I’d be able to pick up this book in Iceland earlier than the UK release date. I was really thrilled to come away with an “airport edition” size three weeks early!

Sadly, this is where it went downhill. I couldn’t get into this book. I don’t think it helps that we have a different lead character again in Sigurdur Óli. While I warmed to Elinborg more after her lead in the last book, “Siggi” as he hates to be called is less of a likeable lead. Sterotypically America-obsessed, he is newly single and generally not a nice person to be around at the moment.

As in previous books, there is a “main” storyline and a more secondary one. Unfortunately I much preferred the secondary plot, and couldn’t get excited about the mysterious world of bankers, swinging and a quite large cast of interchangeable male characters.

If like me you are desperate to know where the Erlendur story about his mysterious childhood is leading, and what he is doing in the East Fjords all this time, you have to accept that this book does not move that story on at all.

On a positive note I like to read anything set in Iceland and the translation is very good – it was worth a read but I don’t think I’ll be reading this one again.

So, I’m now on countdown to whenever the next translation is coming out…I’m not giving up on these books and hope this one was just a blip.

2 thoughts on “Book review – Black Skies by Arnaldur Indridason

  1. I didn’t like it that much either, I don’t like the Sigurdur Oli character 🙂 Strange that it’s only translated into English now? It’s been available in Dutch for quite a while, and they just released the next book here (although I haven’t read it yet).

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one. Yes, unfortunately the English translations aren’t too quick so I have to be patient and wait for probably another year for the net one. If you read it, do let me know if it’s an improvement please.

Leave a Reply

