Borgarvirki

Borgarvirki (“the citadel”) is something that looks much better in person than it does in photos. I was impressed with its situation – it is very high up with far-reaching views. It is a natural basalt formation that was added to and used a fortress hundreds of years ago. It may just look like some rocks in these pictures, but when you are in it you do feel that you can see for miles and no one is going to get in at you.

Looking up at it

I haven’t seen anything else like it in Iceland, and it’s worth a visit – but only if you have a 4×4 as the road is gravel, steep and with some potholes. See below for more photos.

8 thoughts on “Borgarvirki

  1. Last summer Doddi and I went almost all over Iceland, still you have been to so many places that I’ve never heard of. Like this one. Think it looks kind of cool, but maybe that’s because I love old castles and stuff like that 😉 One more place added to my list of places I want to see 🙂

  2. This was one of my favourite places that we visited. It’s not obvious from the photos that the walls are at least 30 feet high – it is a special place and does feel like an old castle even though it’s a natural formation. It is also nice that the road to (and from) it is hard work – I like it when you have to try that little bit harder for your sight-seeing.

Leave a Reply

