Win a DVD from Iceland!

Update 17 November: Congratulations!  I’ve done a random draw this morning and the winners are Grace, Alles Ist Gut, Knotrune, A Six Pack of Stories and Darkling Eye. I’ll email you all to follow up…

Look out for more giveaways in future! Thanks everyone for participating.

As it’s nearly Christmas, I’m feeling generous, and so are the people at Nammi.is.

Nammi is an online retailer in Iceland – their name means “treats” and this is very appropriate as they have all the Icelandic chocolate I like, plus books, wool products, calendars and all kinds of gifts for Iceland lovers. I’ve used them myself when I couldn’t possibly wait until the next trip to buy something and have found their service really quick and reliable.

We would like to offer 5 of you the chance to win any of the 250+ DVDs offered on their website. This is a great opportunity to discover classic Icelandic films like Nói Albínói, TV series like Næturvaktin, or pick up a documentary on Iceland.

Rules: Have a look at the DVDs on Nammi and leave me a comment below telling which DVD you would choose and why. Simple!

Conditions: Contest closes on 16 November. There will be 5 winners who will be randomly drawn and announced on this page on 17 November. I will contact you privately to get your address for shipping the DVD. DVD and postage costs are covered by Nammi.

 

24 thoughts on “Win a DVD from Iceland!

  1. What a great idea for a contest! 🙂 And what a great website! Thanks for posting this – I will definitely be checking out that website in great detail. 🙂

    As for the contest: my first pick for a DVD would be “Kraftur – The Last Ride.” I saw a trailer for the film on YouTube, and it fascinated me, so I’d love to be able to see the film. If I could pick a second choice, it would be “The Lake Between Continents,” because I’m interested in geology and it sounds intriguing.

    Whether I win the drawing or not, I’ll probably order something sooner or later. 🙂

  2. ah, Icelandic candy – i miss it so much. i wonder if they still make lindu buff? its been quite a long time since i was in iceland last. my DVD choice would be Dreamland (Draumalandid) as it sounds like a fascinating, and probably quite a troubling, look at Icelands future.

  3. I’d have to choose the second Night Shift season, (Dagavaktin?). I saw Night Shift on BBC4 in 2011 but they’re showing no signs of broadcasting any of the other seasons. It’s a shame because it was very good!

    • Good choice – Dagvaktin is Næturvaktin “up a notch”. I think they develop the characters very well in the second series. You won’t be disappointed if you get it (except that you then have to worry about how you’re going to then see Fangavaktin and the Bjarnfreðarson film 🙂 ).

Leave a Reply

