Happy blogiversary to me…

“What if no one reads it?”

“What if people write mean things in the comments?”

“But are hot dogs REALLY the right topic for a first post?”

“I’ve got 10 views now! Oh, how many of those are just me clicking on things?”

Clearly, I had a lot of worries when I started blogging.

Hard as it is for me to imagine, the blog is a year old today. Back when I started I never would have thought I’d keep it going this long, but I under-estimated the fun of blogging, and getting to know so many of you through your own blogs. I love that every blog has its own little community and a different feeling when you virtually “walk” into it. All of my initial worries became completely irrelevant…

So, a big thank you to all of my readers for your support. I’ve loved seeing some of you getting excited about your first trip to Iceland, and then hearing about your experience when you return. Some bloggers have hooked me in just through great writing, and I hope that I have picked up some tips from you along the way.

A few things I’ve learned:

  • Some readers come and go and that’s ok.
  • I’ve stopped being obsessed with stats – they go up and down for no real reason!
  • Write about whatever you feel like writing about and don’t get too tied down to your “topic” if you have one.
  • The only people who comment are other bloggers, because they understand that it’s helpful to get something back from your audience.

Going forward, I’d like to keep the blog interesting by trying different things – guest posts and giveaways have been my first ideas borrowed from other blogs that seem to work well. If I’m going to dream big, I’d love to be paid to do something Iceland-related for a living! You never know…

To close, I leave you with a link to my most popular post from the last year, on “10 Good Reasons to Live in Iceland” – I wouldn’t say it was the best post but it must have hit the search engines in all the right places. My second most popular post was “Icelandic Girls Rock!” which was a perfectly innocent post from me about music but I found there are a worrying amount of people searching for Icelandic girls out there…

Here’s to another year of blogging!

32 thoughts on “Happy blogiversary to me…

  1. I had all of those same concerns (minus the hot dogs post) when I started my blog. I still actually worry about those things from time to time, but even during the past five months that I’ve been blogging, I’m learning that stats and clicks and comments aren’t everything, readers come and go, and if someone writes something mean I don’t have to approve that comment for posting (I haven’t actually gotten any rude or mean comments yet, just spam).

    Thanks for the links to your older posts, since I’m a bit of a newcomer to your blog. I’ll sit down and listen to your Icelandic Girls Rock music selection when I have more time. I’m always excited to discover new music! Most of the Icelandic music I’ve listened to in the past has been Frostrosir (I love Christmas music of any kind!)

    Thanks so much for this blog, and here’s to many more years of blogging for you! And maybe one day when I finally make it to Iceland, I could do a guest-post… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • I’d have been impressed if your first post was about hot dogs too! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Strangely I haven’t had any mean comments yet either – I thought there would be loads. I’ve decided that most people who read blogs are quite intelligent. I do find it strange the way some readers seem to just disappear and even stranger that people in real life aren’t remotely interested in your blog, but there we go.

      I hope you like some of the Icelandic music. For a small country they produce such a wide variety of really good music.

      I’d love an Icelandic guest post or even a non-Icelandic one! You are a great writer.

      • Strange indeed – only a few of my friends who I see face-to-face regularly care that I have a blog or read it; most of my fans are online people I’ve never met. ๐Ÿ˜›

        I’d be honored to do a blog post for you sometime! I have no clue what I’d write about, though (a constant struggle for my own blog, as well!)

      • Isn’t it strange? If only out of nosiness I would read a blog that anyone I knew was writing! I wish I’d kept quiet about it now.

        Excellent – I’ll keep you in mind for future posting. I don’t know where the ideas come from but they do come eventually!

  2. Happy Blogday to you! ๐Ÿ˜€
    Blogging tends to draw you in, doesn’t it? It’s very enjoyable – well, I think so, anyway!
    And like you, I love ‘meeting’ other bloggers – all over the world in fact!

  3. Happy One Year of Blogging! I’m very happy to have found you via Emily. And I thank you too for the links. I thought of you earlier when I downloaded the “Of Monsters and Men” cd and then on a podcast I saw a performance by Soley. I never would have imagined Iceland to have such a rocking music scene!

    Best wishes for a successful and rewarding Year Two!

    (I hope your appt. went well yesterday!)

    ~ Christy

    • Thanks Christy! I’m loving your blog too – an unexpected outcome of guest posting. ๐Ÿ™‚ Of Monsters and Men are really getting popular, aren’t they? There’s a whole world of Icelandic music out there so you may get hooked on some more.

      Going back to the doctor next week to actually do the tests – but am getting an inhaler to try when running. I’ll let you know how it goes! In the meantime still being a snail.

  4. Hurrah for one whole year! Your observations are very, very similar to my own. I had never thought about how it’s really only bloggers who leave comments, but that is very true. We are good people ;D So glad to have met you in this crazy bloggy world, Eva!

    • We are good people with great taste. Bloggers are truly thoughtful people.
      Funny to think you were a worried pregnant lady when I found you – look how far you’ve come! It’s been wonderful to see your journey and Miss C getting cuter by the day.

  5. I’ve actually seen a few commenters turn into bloggers. Blogging is a strange obsession, to be sure, but it can be unexpectedly rewarding at times- there are posts on my blog from eight years ago which still get hit regularly!

    • You’ve inspired them! Funny enough when I was just a reader of blogs I never would have dreamed of commenting, no idea why. It is funny that some old and throw-away posts can still become a reference to people, as a blogger it’s easy to feel that you’re only as good as your last post!

  6. Congratulations to your anniversary! This is cool. Even if I got your blog know a short while ago I really like it and I have much to rummage here. Just this minute I read about your 10 reasons to live in Iceland. Very interesting. And what you mentioned in no. 4 is very similar to what the mothers did in the former GDR. There were always buggys with babies in it in front of restaurants, cafรฉs or supermarkets. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Have a nice day!

  7. Congratulations! I think all bloggers have the same kind of thought in the beginning, but like you said it’s so much fun to blog that you get hooked! ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you’ll keep going.
    Have a great day!

    • It is fun isn’t it! It’s like your own little soapbox to share your brilliant thoughts with the world. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve enjoyed seeing your blog start and develop too. Looking forward to seeing you survive the winter now! Thanks for sticking with me.

  8. Happy blogiversary! I agree: most comments are form other bloggers and stats are not important. Interesting feedback is always better than stats.

    I’ve been to Iceland and I can see why people are searching for Icelandic girls: lots of beauties there ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. I was one of Batty’s “commenters turn into bloggers.” Even then, after years of reading, the same concerns, but not obsessively so. You’re doing a great job!

  10. Congrats on your blogiversary! I started my own blog just a few months ago and had some very similar questions running through my mind before I launched it. You said that you eventually stopped agonizing over site stats – I hope I stop soon too! Is there really not much of a rhyme or reason?

    And you’re so right that other bloggers are more likely to leave comments. We understand how exciting it is to moderate comments!

    I’ve been thinking about doing some kind of an “expat blog hop” or something, let me know if you want to try to coordinate something. I followed one that someone did over the summer and it was pretty cool.

    • Thanks! No, the stats seem to come and go sometimes. A lot of my readers have come through Google searches so will only read one particular page. It’s fun to see what people are reading though and what search terms they used! I find that it’s only fellow bloggers who really read and get to know you. Comments are also good because it reminds you other people really are reading! Feedback is always interesting.

      Ooh, like the sound of your blog hop although I’m not sure how it works! Keep me posted. We can chat over email or Twitter if easier.

  11. Hello from Australia! I am not a blogger and I am usually a ‘lurker’ on blogs, but given the comments above I thought I should reveal myself. Firstly congratulations on achieving 12 months of blogging and it is really nice to hear your thoughts on blogging anxiety. But it is thanks to people like you that us lurkers can ‘eavesdrop’, so a big thank you!

    Secondly, I find myself here because my family and I recently returned from a trip to Iceland in the summer to visit some Icelandic friends who were living in Australia until last year. What I didn’t expect was to fall in love with the country and the people. And there are many connections through landscape and history with my West Highlands heritage. We will be back Iceland.

    I have just finished a book written by an Icelandic-born Australian which I highly recommend. It’s called ‘The Promise of Iceland’ by Kari Gislason.

    • Hi Kerry! Welcome to commenting! ๐Ÿ™‚ I also used to never comment on blogs before I wrote one. But as a blogger I can tell you it’s so nice to hear what people are actually thinking of what you write and nice to know who is out there!

      The downside of living in Australia is how far it is from Iceland. ๐Ÿ™‚ That must have been quite a trip. I’m glad you loved it so much. You will definitely have to plan a return!

      Thanks for the recommendation, I haven’t seen that book before so will have a look! Maybe you’d like to become a guest blogger and post a review? ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Happy blogversary indeed, and I completely agree with the things you have learned…. I believe we should write about things that matter to us, and enjoy the people who are attracted to the blog as a result. The numbers don’t matter.

Leave a Reply

