10 Icelandic songs for running

As a runner, having some decent music to run to can be key sometimes in keeping up your motivation. I listen to an ever-evolving mix of music when I’m running. I usually listen to mostly British/American music with a handful of Icelandic songs thrown in but thought it might be fun to try and do a completely Icelandic running playlist. Once I got going it was hard to narrow the list down! So yes, I know I’ve left lots of good songs off. This idea was inspired by Running on Sober who does a great job of regularly posting inspiring running music and quotes.

I’ve included a warm-up and cooldown song, and the rest are a mix of mainly rock with some electronic and 80’s sounds. Even if you don’t run, you might like some of this music!
1. Sigur Ros – Glósóli

2. Vicky – Blizzard

3. Berndsen – Supertime (if it’s good enough to run away from the zombies in Zombie Iceland it’s good enough for me)

4. Legend – City (I am obsessed with Legend right now)

5. Lay Low – Vonin

6. Dead Skeletons – Dead Mantra (I alternated between this and Ghostigital’s “Suicide” which gives you an idea of how running can make you feel)

7. Mammút – Svefnsýkt

8. Just Another Snake Cult – I Know She Does

9. Sykur – Reykjavík

10. Sin Fang Bous – Catch the Light

10 thoughts on “10 Icelandic songs for running

  1. Thanks for this music list. I’m not common with Icelandic Music that much. But this a nice opportunity to get to, even if I’m not running. I’ll check the songs out later, but I guess I’ll like some of them. 🙂

  2. Thank you again! I’m going to give you a shout out this week in one of my posts; Icelandic musicians are so popular these days, it seems like I’m always hearing someone referenced. Or maybe I’m just paying more attention now because of you?

  3. Pingback: A Return to Running (On Rock, House of Cards and Shameless)… | Running On Sober

Leave a Reply

