White Lions

No, there’s no white lions in Iceland, I’m going a bit off-piste with this post…

I visited the Lion Park and the Rhino and Lion Reserve in Johannesburg. These are popular tourist attractions where you can see lions along with other animals. Although of course not as good as going to a big game reserve on safari, these are one step up from a zoo and really enjoyable if you only have a short time to spare. These were my first (and only) times seeing white lions, and they were immediately captivating. In fact, I was only going to post one photo of them, but realised I had so many photos I liked that they were all worth sharing. I will post photos of the other animals another time.

Sadly, many white lions are killed by trophy hunters who pay a lot of money for the privilege to South Africa every year. Many that are bred in captivity are bred for this purpose. On another depressing note, it has been reported that white lions born in England have been sent to a Japanese circus.

Surely these animals are worth saving?

10 thoughts on “White Lions

  1. Definitely worth saving! I can’t believe what some people do for ‘trophies’.
    Fabulous photos! I think the ‘I think she would have eaten us!’ one is my favourite of the set – look at her smile! 🙂

  2. I saw a video on YouTube of a family man being eaten by lions while he was trying to photograph them. His kids and wife were in the car filming the whole thing. Lesson learned? Stay inside the car.

    • Ooh, that sounds like fun, I might have to look that up. Why are people so stupid? Not helped by the fact that we make all these films giving animals human qualities and making them just like us. Seems like those are the only types of films I ever see the trailers for at the cinema. It gives a very misleading impression of wild animals, as do zoos to a point. Rant over.

  3. They’re so beautiful.

    Branch out you crazy girl you! 🙂

    One of the charities I support here in States is Big Cat Rescue. I definitely agree they are worth saving. Thanks for the post!

Leave a Reply

