The joys of a jam burger

I discovered a new delicacy at Prikið – a jam burger! This was so gorgeous. The description from their menu:

Jam burger: with shredded cheese, camembert, blue cheese, parmesan, lettuce and jam.

It sounds a little cheese-heavy in the description, but it turned out to be just the right amount of each flavour.

Annoyingly, I didn’t take a photo of it in all its glory – even more so given I took several less exciting photos out of the window instead. However a fellow blogger who also has good taste did – below image from http://www.anthonysecco.com/2011/11/food-and-favors-in-reykjavik/

jamburger

I’m not surprised that this was so good – after all, this is the land of the “4 cheese pizza with jam on the side” that is another favourite of mine. Cheese and jam are the perfect combination and balance each other out. I don’t know why no one else has figured this out yet. I also don’t know why it didn’t occur to me that if jam was good was pizza, it would also be good with a cheeseburger! I’ll definitely be recreating this one at home.

And in case you’re interested, here is the view from upstairs at Prikið, a highly recommended place to eat.

P1000056 P1000057 P1000058

24 thoughts on “The joys of a jam burger

    • No, it isn’t always cold there, but it isn’t hot either. I think how you find the weather will depend on where you live now. You do have to be prepared for weather disruption and if you aren’t an “outdoorsy” person it wouldn’t appeal.

  1. So, this is like a real meat burger, with cheese and jam? I must confess that this does not sound very good, but if I make to Iceland, I’m willing to give it a try. Jam on pizza sounds even worse. 😛

    What sort of jam is this? Is it super-sweet like most American jams and jellies, or is it more tart?

    • Yep. 🙂 I dare you to try jam on any kind of melting cheese food you make – you might be surprised! Any red jam would be ok, although strawberry and raspberry are quite strong flavours. It probably isn’t as sweet as American varieties. If you ever go to Ikea and get lingonberry jam that would be quite similar I think.

  2. Just had a very delicious fish and chip lunch but ate toooooo much and then read your blog not a good combination! But your Iceland jam and cheese burger looks Yummy! and I loved the photos of your view as you munched away gave a real overall impression. You sell Iceland very well.

    • Ooh, jalapeno jam! Good and creative idea. Chili jam would also be good. I actually looked for redcurrant jam in the supermarket this week and best I could find was cherry jam which I thought I might try as something other than strawberry or raspberry.

  3. I’m really happy that I’m replete this moment. 😉 The burger looks delicious. I only knew cold cheese with jam for dessert. So I can imagine how good jam must taste with a 4 cheese pizza. Have a nice start to the week!

  4. Pingback: 10 things to put you off living in Iceland | I'd Rather Be In Iceland

Leave a Reply

