Icelandic Chocolate Review #5 – Draumur

The Draumur bar is another take on the Icelandic favourite combination of liquorice and chocolate.

It looks like just milk chocolate from the outside, but inside there are two “tubes” of black liquorice.

These seem to be very popular in Iceland – you see them even where there is only a small selection of chocolate. It’s not one of my favourites, as for me there isn’t enough of a contrast between the two flavours. I prefer a dark chocolate/liquorice combination. Mr Idratherbeiniceland rates these a bit higher than I do and likes that the milk chocolate isn’t as sweet as in some other bars.

They would make a good choice for someone who isn’t sure about liquorice and chocolate together. I also found the chocolate breaks off quite easily so if you don’t like eating it as it is you could break it up and eat the liquorice separately! Overall I’d rate these a 5 out of 10 – they’re fine, nothing wrong with them, but there are other bars I’d choose first.

Read my other chocolate reviews here:

Buffaló

Prins

Hraun

Florida

13 thoughts on “Icelandic Chocolate Review #5 – Draumur

    • You should at least try it – it’s not the really bitter kind. It’s quite nice in “ball” form where you can kind of suck off the chocolate and then chew the liquorice. Ok, maybe I’m not selling it very well!

  1. Ahhhh, the Icelandic chocolate connoisseur posts another discerning review! I’m fascinated by the variety of choc-licorice combinations available there. Here’s a new bar I’ve just spied in a Toronto supermarket and believe me, I will NOT be trying it, even though it combines established N. American favourites: a peanut butter & jam chocolate bar. Ick.

  2. For me, it is one of the best candy I have ever tasted. I am Icelandic so maybe therefor. We LOVE chocolate/liquorice combo! Am buying a bunch when I’ll get home 🙂

  3. The Icelandic fascination with the liquorice-chocolate combo began decades ago when someone wrapped a liquorice straw around a small milk-chocolate bar made by the Linda candy factory. It caught on quickly but it was quite a long time before the candy manufacturers caught on and started making products like Draumur. Nowadays you can even get chocolate-liquorice Easter eggs.

Leave a Reply

