Life without blogging

It’s funny the way blogging works. I haven’t posted in 3 months and yet my views aren’t much lower than when I was posting! There seems to be a year-round flow of people looking for information on planning trips to Iceland and from my search terms, a huge number also want to move to Iceland.

I was surprised when a post of mine went viral and I had 30,000 views in 3 days. Why is it that the posts that people share are never your best ones?? I’m sure it should be a bloggers dream to get lots of new readers in one hit but it was actually a little weird.

Sadly, several bloggers that I have been a long-term follower of have also either been quiet or made a conscious decision to stop. I suppose like any hobby, most blogs have a shelf life – my problem is that I haven’t found any new ones that I like as much! On a positive note doing less blog reading and social media in general makes it feel like I have lots of spare time.

I’ve been quiet partly because I was meant to go to Iceland in February but had to cancel my trip and have been feeling a little uninspired in terms of new content. I do still have a few places from the last trip that I haven’t blogged about yet, but I’m now also looking forward to going back later this summer. It’s feeling like a very long time since I’ve been.

Just because I’ve been quiet, doesn’t mean there’s been a shortage of Iceland in the news. PollapΓΆnk, protests and DNA testing for Icelanders have taken up big parts of my news feed in recent months. Perhaps the most unexpected news story for me was the fact that Showtime is doing a remake of the great Icelandic TV series Heimsendir. It’s a shame that most viewers will probably never see the original, which is both dark and funny.

Just so I don’t feel guilty about a post with NOTHING new about Iceland to share, as many of my readers seem to like Icelandic sheep, I will close with a photo of a two headed sheep/typical Icelandic roadblock:

P1020219

 

 

18 thoughts on “Life without blogging

  1. Lovely to hear from you again! I have missed your regular updates on all things Icelandic. We’ve had quite a lot of seismic activity here in Niceland lately. It’s a good time to visit if you like to shake, rattle and roll πŸ˜‰

  2. So happy to read another blog from you! Several of my favorite bloggers seem to be on hiatus, so I’m feeling sad and disconnected from the blogging world. πŸ˜› If you’re stuck for ideas for blogs between trips, how about expanding on what you talked about here and write a few posts about how you keep your need for all things Icelandic sated while you’re not there for so long? πŸ˜‰

  3. I echo all the others — welcome back — and in particular “storytellergirlgrace.” Iceland Penny has fond new topics… But, but, it does have to be a focus that you love, that is really part of you. There’s no point mechanically choosing something new, it would just be a chore instead of a expression of who you are, a celebration of your own curiosity and delight that you share with the world.

  4. Yes, welcome back! Sometimes it’s okay just to post pictures and tell us where it is, when you don’t feel like writing. Photographs of Iceland tell such a mood story– they don’t always need a lot of words.

  5. You must know that a t least a few of the hits are some of us just checking to see if you’ve come back. Always look forward to anything from you because it’s good stuff.

Leave a Reply

